History & Literary - Pentateuch

According to the order in which the books of the Old Testament now stand, those of an historical nature are appropriately placed at the beginning. The first five books, having a chain of connection throughout, are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These are styled the Pentateuch, such being the Greek  compound for five books. They are likewise entitled the Books of Moses, from the belief that that enlightened Jewish leader composed them.