Outline of Genesis
The Beginnings of the Race and of the Chosen Family
I. God and the Race, Genesis 1-11
1. The Beginnings of the World and of Man, Genesis 1:1-2:25
 2. The Beginning and Spread of Evil, Genesis 3:1-6:7
 3. The Judgment and Renewal of the Earth, Genesis 6:8-11:26
II. God and the Chosen Family, Genesis 12-50
1. The History of Abraham and His Son Isaac, Genesis 11:27-25:11
(The Line of Ishmael, Hagar’s Son), Genesis 25:12-18
2. The History of Isaac and Jacob, Genesis 25:19-35:29
(The Line of Esau, Who Sold His Birthright), Gen_3:1-246:1-37:1
3. The History of Jacob’s Sons, Joseph and His Brothers, Gen_37:2-36; Gen_38:1-30; Gen_39:1-23; Gen_40:1-23; Gen_41:1-57; Gen_42:1-38; Gen_43:1-34; Gen_44:1-34; Gen_45:1-28; Gen_46:1-34; Gen_47:1-31; Gen_48:1-22; Gen_49:1-33; Gen_50:1-26
(1) Joseph Sold into Egypt, Genesis 37:1-36
(Judah’s Sin), Genesis 38:1-30
(2) Joseph’s Servitude in Egypt, Genesis 39-41
 (3) The Journeys of Joseph’s Brothers to Egypt, Genesis 42-45
 (4) Jacob Goes to Egypt. He and Joseph Die There, Genesis 46-50

The name is the Greek word for “beginning,” and was selected by the translators of the Hebrew Scriptures into Greek. This version was known as the Septuagint (frequently indicated by LXX), because it was said the translators numbered seventy men. It was made for the Jews of “the Dispersion” dwelling in Egypt and elsewhere, who had become unfamiliar with the language of their fathers.
The word “generations” indicates the successive divisions of the book and the gradual concentration of the divine purpose in one special line of ancestry, leading to the development of the knowledge of Jehovah through Israel. Notice this word in Gen_2:4; Gen_5:1; Gen_6:9; Gen_10:1; Gen_11:10; Gen_11:27; Gen_25:12; Gen_25:19; Gen_36:1; Gen_37:2. Each of these verses introduces a new section, in which is traced the “generations,” or issue, of the person it names. Ishmael and Esau are side-lines from which the history promptly returns to the line of promise through Isaac and Jacob.
Genesis is the first of the five books of Moses, known as the Pentateuch and also called “the Law.” See Luk_24:44; Mat_22:40; Joh_10:34. The unanimous testimony of the New Testament is to ascribe the authorship to Moses. See Mat_19:8; Mar_12:26; Luk_16:31; Joh_5:46. But he doubtless incorporated sacred traditions handed down from the patriarchs, and there are traces of an editor’s hand-probably Ezra’s.